Skip to content
December 6, 2012 / Avery

Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie

300

Obviously, I’ve got a thing with trying Shea Moisture products. It’s just so hard not to when I find myself in the drug store every other day… and they are just calling to me in their natural and organic glory! More Shea Moisture reviews to come, by the way. I had been hearing so much about this product, good and bad, and wanted to decipher the crap from the credit myself. My breaking point to purchase was when I was youtubing and saw a video of someone who loves it who has my EXACT texture, a first find. So I had to have it. I will repurchase this. Love it.

The deets:

Pros:

  • Lots of slip
  • Nice and thick and custardy
  • Smells awesome!
  • Very affordable for the amount of product given ($9.99-$10.99 for 12oz)
  • Moisturizing
  • Defines curls amazingly

Cons:

  • It makes the hair ever so slightly crunchy but all you have to do is squeeze your curls some and they are back soft. But the crunch it does give it not disturbing, drying, or at all noticeable.

I think the issue with the negative reviews I saw is the age-old “it didn’t give me curls” story from what I could tell. This product isn’t magic. It defines existing curls, not chemically alters your texture to give you curls, as well as how you apply all curl custards matters just as much as the product you use. It’s a great moisturizer, so it doesn’t just have to be for curly girls… just don’t expect it to give you something you don’t have… as with any product. Some ppl found it ‘drying’ but I did not experience that all, but then again I don’t apply moisturizer to my hair without sealing it in with an oil… or else it evaporates, like any water-based product. So be sure you’re using them properly (moisturizing then sealing) regardless of what the bottle says to do with it. If it’s water-based, seal it in. If it’s oil-based, moisturize before. That doesn’t mean this product isn’t good because you don’t have curls to define. It’s a great thick moisturizer, too.

Here’s how I used mine to get the results I loved:

Washed (using Renpure Originals Argan Oil Luscious Shampoo) and conditioned (let conditioner sit for 5 minutes and detangled while saturated, then rinsed, using Renpure Originals Argan Oil Luscious Conditioner). I then applied the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie to small sections at a time, saturating lightly root to tip (called the ‘raking method’ of applying product; it clumps your curls nicely and prevents retangling compared to just slathering and fluffing). I then applied some coconut oil to seal in the moisture and some whipped shea butter to my ends for protection.

Here’s a look:

IMG2143

IMG2144

IMG2145

Leave a comment